google analytics. so easy just a mom can do it.

 

Just out of curiosity, how many of you have been on a job interview? Did it go something like this?   

 
hiring manager: “So, just a mom in mesquite, what qualities can you bring to our company?  Do you feel like you possess characteristics that would set you apart from the other applicants and make you a good fit for our company?”
 
just a mom in mesquite: “Thank you for asking, hiring manager. I do feel I possess a number of desirable qualities that I can bring to the table. I am confident that I can make a positive impact on your company. For instance, after looking at the job description you had given me, I can assure you I will at least, meet the minimum requirements outlined. As you can see from my resume, I have highlighted all of the great things I have accomplished previously by just doing the minimum tasks required of me. Occasionally, I will even exceed them. However, I think we can both agree, just hovering above the ‘grounds for termination’ zone is plenty good enough. Award winning, in fact. My resume summary says it all:
 ‘Employee willing to only work at job description level. Hoping to get foot in the door at  entry position and keep foot there, for the rest of my life. Does not actively seek career growth opportunities, or any extra tasks other than what is outlined. Regularly pats self on back for just showing up. I own a suit.’ I pride myself on being a one-woman skeleton crew.
 
On a completely different subject, are any of you in the dating scene? Do conversations with friends usually go like this?
 
 friend: “So, what type of guy are you looking for? I know lots of available men.
 you: “Ehhh, I’m not picky. I just want someone that’s human…and breathing. Here take my number, feel free to hand it out to anyone who fits
            that description. ” 

 

I’m asking because, at what point did “meeting the minimum requirement” become synonymous with “quality” , “healthy” and something to be proud of? Why is  the “minimum” considered a good thing? When did the “minimum” requirement of anything become a stopping point? And why, of all things, has “meeting the minimum requirement” become good enough for our kid’s food? In all aspects…the over all quality, the ingredients, the processing, the packaging, the presentation, the nutritional value…all of it! Why are they getting commodities consisting of the left over stuff that nobody else wanted? Why do these commodities need 20+ other non-food ingredients just to make them meet the minimum requirement? Should kids really be eating any finished product that requires multiple handlers, a trip around the country, a PR person, a marketing tactic, fillers, extenders, and a reputation management team? Had you only read that last sentence, you could have easily assumed I was referring to a celebrity-type person…not so much a school lunch.
 
When did serving food considered ‘Edible For Human Consumption’ and ‘meets minimum requirements’, become a viable selling point and health conscious model? It’s a last ditch requirement
 
 
Are any of you people that peddle and promote this crap embarrassed yet? If not, here is an excerpt from an article in USA Today to help you get to that point:
 
For chicken, the USDA has supplied schools with thousands of tons of meat from old birds that might otherwise go to compost or pet food. Called “spent hens” because they’re past their egg-laying prime, the chickens don’t pass muster with Colonel Sanders— KFC won’t buy them — and they don’t pass the soup test, either. The Campbell Soup Company says it stopped using them a decade ago based on “quality considerations.”
 
 Admittedly, I’m still unsettled about last week’s post concerning aramark and the comments by the former USDA employee/ school district and food services consultant.  You can jump to that whole debate by clicking here…it goes on for a couple of days. There was alot of valuable input from the food service consultant, parents, doctors, and consumers. It was interesting to see the different opinions from all over the country. Speaking of all over the country, I do want to thank everyone for sharing your thoughts about the topic, especially the top five people who showed up more than 34 times in 2 days, just to contribute! That’s some dedication!

For crying out loud…just give Tara her ingredient list already.
 
 
I didn’t know ARAMARK provided internet service to the general public. Wow, those guys do everything!
One Comment to “google analytics. so easy just a mom can do it.”

  1. I usually don’t say this, but I definitely lol’d. They’re like the cheap date that makes you pay… with your health. 😦

Leave a Reply

