aramark; fighting childhood obesity with fancy looking cafeterias, sack lunches, and one big-ass, high kickin’ squirrel.

Sorry about the language. It’s just that, quite frankly, there is no other way to describe it. As I write this, I am laughing and crying all at the same time…hysterically, I might add. Laughing, because for a minute, I thought I was watching some Saturday Night Live school lunch revolution parody; crying because reality has sunk in and it has occurred to me that they are serious. Also, because according to “you tube”, only 314 other people have seen this…counting me.

 

ARAMARK’s answer to the millions of parents pleas across the U.S.? They did a comprehensive research involving 2500 parents,teachers and kids to gauge what everyone else in the country wanted. I’m not sure who these “thrilled” people being researched were. I’m assuming most were hand picked from a Chuck-E-Cheese parking lot on a Saturday afternoon. The rest maybe from when the circus was in town. No idea. All I know is that they didn’t ask me.

 

I’m wondering if the idea had crossed any one’s mind to just dump all of this marketing, research, teacher workshop, bright sign, fancy cordless microphone, character suit money into buying a better quality food? Judging by the hot dogs, pizza, chocolate milk and Styrofoam trays, I’m going to say probably not. Did anyone think that given then short amount of time for lunch already…a dancing rodent could prove to be distracting? Or maybe they did, and now they have been demoted to squirrel guy. Because really, I can’t see why anyone would want to do that on purpose.

 

The only good news about this? My son’s school district is very, very conservative. Pigs will fly and hell will freeze over before they ever allow a grown man in an animal suit, to hand feed a child in our city.

 

So, creepy.

 

**Correction: after watching the video again, I was incorrect.  This is a friendly fox jumping around…not a big-ass squirrel. My apologies.
2 Comments to “aramark; fighting childhood obesity with fancy looking cafeterias, sack lunches, and one big-ass, high kickin’ squirrel.”

  1. I’ve just discovered you blog thanks to Tara. This subject- school lunches is still not enough of a hot button issue. So all of the blogging y’all are doing keeps the awareness factor growing. Thanks!

  2. I share your sentiments about Aramark. More hype than anything else. I’m hoping that your’e making waves. I

Leave a Reply

