finally, a food processing manual i can understand.

Thank you FAO for putting this together! Granted, it was written for under-developed countries, its easy to understand.  I am happy to know it follows guidelines by the HACCP. Which I trust, because the HACCP was developed by Keystone Foods, here in the USA. Which has a partner called McKey, not here in the USA.. Which supplies McDonald’s.

Ummmmm..McWhat???

5 Comments to “finally, a food processing manual i can understand.”

  1. “if you’re going to use partially defatted pork fatty tissue to make canned sausage, you have to do it with minimal contamination of said tissue with bowel tissue, and the people who do the de-fatting have to wash their hands.”*pretty much my favorite quote of the day:)

  2. Hi Jamie! Thanks for the comment!I was not trying to imply that McDonalds was using this actual manual..that’s what I meant with the “granted it was written for under-developed countries”. I was really just saying more of a “Yeah! Something with pictures!” (one that I, personally can understand…when words like meat batter and such are tossed around…I really need a visual:) I have no doubt that McD’s uses gloves with higher standards than this manual in particular. After reading my post, I can see how it could have been taken out of context. I was considering taking it down…but your comment has some great information…so I wanted to leave it up.This whole post was actually in reference to a friend wanting to know how McDonalds could sell a USDA inspected 100% beef hamburger for under $1…and then another was asking something about if there where even enough cows in the US to do that. How it even led to McDonalds and HACCP was because:* Keystone had created the HACCP guidelines. http://www.keystonefoods.com/safety.html*Then I came across that manual, based off of the HACCP guidelines…(very helpful in explaining meat batter…)*And then I found out McKey, owned by Keystone, exclusively produces/distributes to McDonalds…(in every country but ours….) However, Keystone does distribute to McDonalds here in the US…with no mention of McKey??*And the McKey Korea brochure explaining how they are HACCP certifiedand also supply for Burger King..http://www.mckey.co.kr/mckey/mckey.pdfAnd I really am sad that they took the time to put the manual together for under-developed countries…and didn’t have those people wear gloves.I’m not mad that McDonald’s has their own exclusive manufacturer in other countries. Actually…they should do the same type of thing here..(do they already?) It seems like it would make everything easier..and create many many jobs. Honestly, looking at all of their info…I would feel way safer (I said “safer”, not “healthier”… Adam from the USDA) eating a McDonald’s hamburger than anything from our schools. The “McWhat?” was more of a “McWhat the heck is going on??” Looking back, I probably should have been more specific…but honestly, I didn’t think anyone else other than my friends and relatives read my blog ;-)Sorry for the un-intentional quibbles, Jaime! But…since you are here..maybe you can answer my friend’s question…are there enough cows here, or does McDonald’s also use beef from around the world?

  3. As much as I agree with what I’ve read so far of our blog, I have a few quibbles with this post.HACCP itself is a pretty sensible, fairly comprehensive system of guidelines for safely preparing food. HACCP is only mandatory in the US for meat and juice products, but producers of many other food products choose to implement the guidelines as a way of making their food measurably safer in a way that allows for direct comparison of data (ie; if the meat ravioli line is tested for E. coli once an hour, but the cheese ravioli line is tested under less stringent guidelines twice a day, the data collected is not directly comparable). HACCP is used not only for processed/ground meat, but also for “whole muscle” cuts such as chicken breasts and chuck roast.McDonald’s actually has a higher set of standards for many of their food products than those called for by HACCP. It makes good business sense to do so; for such a large company with so many different suppliers and such immense output, a single mistake could lead to severe economic losses.HACCP *doesn’t* instruct meat processors to extract every available calorie from animal sources of food (feel a little queasy phrasing it like that, but it is what it is). What HACCP *does* say is that if you’re going to use partially defatted pork fatty tissue to make canned sausage, you have to do it with minimal contamination of said tissue with bowel tissue, and the people who do the de-fatting have to wash their hands.I’m not a huge fan of processed/fast food. I don’t like that “chicken” nuggets are primarily composed of chicken skin, I don’t like that most pigs who end up in supermarkets have less than 6 hours of human contact between birth and death, and I don’t like that most of my vegetables cost more to get from the farm to the shelf than they did to grow. HACCP does not, and is not intended to, address any of these concerns.

  4. I think the part that stood out the most to me…..was that none of these people are wearing gloves.

  5. Basically it says it’s attempt to provide 100% of the animal, offal, bone, blood and tendon and meat scrap, as a protien food source.HACCP is quite an eye opener. Never have been a fan of processed meat “products”. This clinches it.

Leave a Reply

